LATEST: 16 LRT stations from Ampang Park to Kelana Jaya will be closed for 7 days

Image credit: Harian Metro, Berita Harian

From unexpected breakdowns to delays and service interruptions, local commuters are perhaps all-too-familiar with all of the common gripes that come with making use of the local public transportation system in the Klang Valley.

Unfortunately, it would seem that things are not about to get any better, as it has been recently reported by local newspaper The New Straits Times that the Light Rail Transit (LRT) system operated by RapidKL will be closing a large number of the stations along the Kelana Jaya line, beginning from 4pm yesterday.

16 stations on Kelana Jaya LRT line closed for 7 days

The news was further confirmed on the RapidKL official Twitter account, after a map indicating the affected stations was included in a latest update that was shared at 7.42am this morning (November 9th, 2022).

Of the total number of 37 stations along the popular rail line that services users from Kuala Lumpur all the way up to Petaling Jaya and Subang, 16 will remain closed for a period of seven days until November 15th, 2022.

Among them include:

  1. Ampang Park
  2. KLCC
  3. Kampung Baru
  4. Dang Wangi
  5. Masjid Jamek
  6. Pasar Seni
  7. KL Sentral
  8. Bangsar
  9. Abdullah Hukum
  10. Kerinchi
  11. Universiti
  12. Taman Jaya
  13. Asia Jaya
  14. Taman Paramount
  15. Taman Bahagia
  16. Kelana Jaya

In addition to this, the remaining 21 stations along the Kelana Jaya line will also close earlier than usual, at 11.00pm. These include:

  1. Gombak
  2. Taman Melati
  3. Wangsa Maju
  4. Sri Rampai
  5. Setiawangsa
  6. Jelatek
  7. Dato Keramat
  8. Damai
  9. Lembah Subang
  10. Ara Damansara
  11. Glenmarie
  12. Subang Jaya
  13. SS15
  14. SS18
  15. US7
  16. Taipan
  17. Wawasan
  18. USJ21
  19. Alam Megah
  20. Subang Alam
  21. Putra Heights

At this point in time, no clear explanation has been issued by the company for the sudden closure of so many LRT stops along one of its most popular lines.

To compensate for the service interruptions, free shuttle bus services will be provided to commuters at four LRT stations: Ara Damansara LRT station, Kelana Jaya LRT station, Pasar Seni LRT station and Masjid Jamek LRT station. However, do note that while some buses will stop at every station, others will only travel between two stations.

Tap here to give us a ‘Like’ on Facebook and stay up-to-date on the latest news and stories!

Also read: Chunks of concrete debris fall from LRT3 tracks & crash into roadside seller’s stall, thankfully no injuries reported

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts