BREAKING: PM Anwar Ibrahim announces Cabinet lineup for his unity government

Image credit: SCMP, Malay Mail

Prime Minister Anwar Ibrahim has at long last announced the Cabinet line-up for his administration, ending a week’s worth of speculation among pundits and political spectators alike as to who it may consist of. This is especially in light of the fact that Anwar is currently leading a unity government that was formed under the recommendation of His Majesty, the Yang di-Pertuan Agong, after the 15th General Elections resulted in Malaysia’s first hung Parliament.

Prime Minister Anwar Ibrahim announces his Cabinet lineup

In a press conference that was aired just moments ago, Anwar announced that his Cabinet will focus primarily on tackling the cost of living situation in the country, in addition to bolstering the nation’s economy recovery. All ministers will be sworn into office tomorrow (December 3rd, 2022) at 3.00pm. Anwar’s Cabinet consists of 28 members, including himself, which is smaller in comparison to former premier Ismail Sabri’s 32 members.

The new Cabinet list will be as follows.

Prime Minister: Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim

Deputy Prime Minister: Datuk Seri Zahid Hamidi

Deputy Prime Minister II: Haji Fadillah bin Haji Yusof

Minister of Sabah & Sarawak Affairs

Minister: Armizan Mohd Ali

Minister of Agriculture and Food Security (MOA)

Minister: Mohammad bin Sabu

Minister of Plantation Industries and Commodities

Minister: Haji Fadillah bin Haji Yusof

Minister of Defence (KEMENTAH/MINDEF)

Minister: Dato’ Seri Utama Haji Mohamad bin Hasan

Minister of Domestic Trade & Cost of Living (KPDNHEP)

Minister: Salahuddin bin Ayub

Minister of Education (KPM/MOE)

Minister: Fadhlina binti Sidek

Minister of Economy

Minister: Mohd Rafizi bin Ramli

Minister of Communication and Multimedia (KKMM)

Minister: Fahmi Fadzil

Minister of Energy, Natural Resources & Climate Change (KeTSA)

Minister: Nik Nazmi bin Nik Ahmad

Minister of Entrepreneurship and Co-operatives Development (MEDAC)

Minister: Ewon Benedick

Minister of Law and Institutional Reform

Minister: Dato’ Sri Azalina binti Othman Said

Minister of Finance (MOF)

Minister: Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim

Minister of Foreign Affairs (KLN/Wisma Putra)

Minister: Zambry Abdul Kadir

Minister of Health (KKM/MOH)

Minister: Dr Zaliha Mustafa

Minister of Higher Education (KPT/MOHE)

Minister: Mohamed Khaled Nordin

Minister of Home Affairs (KDN)

Minister: Saifuddin Nasution bin Ismail

Minister of Housing and Local Government (KPKT)

Minister: Nga Kor Ming

Minister of Human Resources (MOHR)

Minister: Sivakumar s/o Varatharaju Naidu

Minister of International Trade and Industry (MITI)

Minister: Tengku Zafrul

Minister of National Unity (PERPADUAN/KPN)

Minister: Datuk Aaron Ago Anak Dagang

Minister of Plantation Industries and Commodities (KPPK/MPIC)

Minister: Datuk Seri Haji Fadillah bin Yusof

Minister of Rural Development (KPLB)

Minister: Datuk Zahid Hamidi

Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation (MOSTI)

Minister: Chang Lih Kang

Minister of Tourism, Art and Culture (MOTAC)

Minister: Tiong King Sing

Minister of Transport (MOT)

Minister: Loke Siew Fok

Minister of Women, Family and Community Development (KPWKM)

Minister: Datuk Seri Nancy binti Shukri

Minister of Works (KKR)

Minister: Alexander Nanta Linggie

Minister of Youth and Sports (KBS)

Minister: Hannah Yeoh

Minister of Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs

Minister: Salahuddin bin Ayub

Tap here to give us a ‘Like’ on Facebook and stay up-to-date on the latest news!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts